Another Day . . .

Remember. . . keep plodding along!

Hi. Here I am again after two months. I’m really going to try and get blogging a little better. I spent Saturday learning a few more things about blogging and posting pictures. I’ve been selected to serve as 2nd Co-Chairman in our Utah Fibromyalgia Association’s board, and the chairman has asked me to keep track of posting pictures on our UFA blog, and to make an occasional post. I hesitated a little before accepting the assignment to serve on the board because I’m trying to set priorities and only take on a few things–trying to keep my life calm and stress free. I sometimes feel guilty spending so much time each day tending to my own personal physical health needs. I feel like I’m pampering myself. But I know that if I don’t take care of my own personal physical requirements, I’ll never be able to do anything for anyone else. I have a lovely and comfortable home and a husband who will do anything I need him to do. He doesn’t put expectations on me or make me feel guilty about not being able to do more things. For that I will always be grateful. I really consider it a blessing that I found him–or he found me–whichever the case might have been.

I’ve been trying very hard to keep a smile on my face and not complain or make it obvious that I am in pain all the time.  Last summer I finally stopped grieving the loss of my good health and decided that if I was going to have this affliction of fibromyalgia, I might as well make the best of it.  Since then I have kept a “Gratitude Journal,” writing three things that I am thankful for each night before I go to bed. It usually isn’t hard at all. There are still many good things in my life. Focusing on those things helps me think more positive thoughts.

I won’t claim to never have a pity party, shed a few tears, or complain–I’m just saying that it helps me feel better to focus on happy thoughts. When I find myself starting to get anxious about the future or frightened about a doctor not giving me the prescriptions that I need, etc., I force myself to stop and distract myself with something good. I think that most of the time I look pretty good. Most people still don’t know I am ill, and the ones that do have commented on how I look like I’m doing so much better.  I truly am better than I was a year ago, but I’m still very ill, and very much in pain. But I know that people don’t like to be around someone who makes them feel bad, sad, or guilty for feeling good. I don’t want people to feel that way about me. I want to have lots of friends and to have them admire me for my unselfishness.

Blah, blah, blah. I hope I’m making sense with all this blabber. Enough said for today.  Remember. . . keep plodding along!

Leave a Reply

